Press Releases

Winners Of The Inaugural Dicebreaker Tabletop Awards Revealed 

Cardboard Alchemy, Lucky Duck Games’ Flamecraft Take Home Best Board Game

PHILADELPHIA – Dec. 5, 2022 – The debut Dicebreaker Tabletop Awards recognize the most outstanding tabletop and board games and their creators in 2022. The winners include the “Best Board Game Award,” awarded to Flamecraft by Cardboard Alchemy and Lucky Duck Games, as well as the audience-voted “People’s Choice” award, which went to Beam Saber by Austin Ramsey.

Nominations spanned across blockbuster releases, hidden indie gems, established names, and rising stars already making their mark on the industry. A panel of expert judges consisting of journalists, influencers, designers, artists, and other prominent members of the tabletop gaming industry selected a shortlist of finalists before casting votes to decide the winner in each category. Meanwhile, “The People’s Choice” awards received thousands of votes from the game-playing public.

The well-deserving winners were announced on stage at PAX Unplugged 2022, with the ceremony streamed online. The winners are as follows:

Best Board Game


•Designer: Manny Vega

•Artist: Sandara Tang

•Publisher: Cardboard Alchemy, Lucky Duck Games

Runner-ups: Crescent Moon, Three Sisters, Undaunted: Stalingrad

Best Roleplaying Game

Coyote & Crow

•Designer: Connor Alexander (Cherokee Nation), William McKay (Manitoba Métis Federation), Weyodi Oldbear (Numunu), Derek Pounds (Samish), Nico Albert (Cherokee Nation), Riana Elliot (Cherokee), Diogo Nogueira, William Thompson (Cherokee Nation)

•Artist: Tate Allen (Choctaw), Kyle Charles (Whitefish Lake First Nation), Phil Cohen, Dale Deforest (Diné), Jillian Dolan (Métis/Cree), Sadekaronhes Esquivel (Kanyen’kehá:ka/Mexican Indigenous), Emma Flowers (Crow), Elijah Forbes (Waganakising Oadawak), Al Harris (Lumbee), Amélie Hutt, Mackenzie Neal (Quapaw Nation), Brian Roanhorse (Navajo), Heather Snell (Lakota/Dakota), Jesse Thompson, Wolf Tomoyaketu (Comanche/Apache), Charles Utting, Jeffrey Veregge (S’Klallam), Kameron White (Chahta/Tsalagi), Matthew Willetto (Navajo), Lawrence Willie (Paiute), Nala J. Wu

•Publisher: Coyote & Crow LLC

Runner-ups: Avatar Legends, Ironsworn: Starforged, The One Ring: Second Edition

Best Ongoing Card Game

Flesh & Blood: Everfest

•Designer: James White

•Artist: Robbie Wen, MJ Fetesio, Sam Yang

•Publisher: Legend Story Studios

Runner-ups: The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game – Revised Core Set, Magic: The Gathering – Dominaria United, Pokémon TCG: Sword & Shield – Astral Radiance

Designer of the Year

Banana Chan

Runner-ups: Cezar Capacle, Colin Le Sueur, James Kniffen, Jeeyon Shim, Jonny Pac, Lynne Hardy, Paul Dennen, Will Jobst



Publisher of the Year

Free League Publishing

Runner-ups: Games Omnivorous, Lucky Duck Games, Plus One Exp

Rising Star: Designer

Lottie and Jack Hazell

Runner-ups: Connor Alexander, Duke Harrist, Gwendolyn Clark, Kavita Poduri, Mabel Harper, Mario Ortegon, N.L. Morrison, Seb Pines, Viditya Voleti

Rising Star: Publisher

Coyote & Crow LLC

Runner-ups: Adder Stone Games, Birdwood Games, Chapbook Co-op, Dinoberry Press, Possible Worlds Games

People’s Choice

Beam Saber

•Designer: Austin Ramsay

•Artist: Vincent Patrick, Hadrian, Atlas Sellman, Christine Blight, Jess Whitmore, Imani Kelker, No_Tables, Andrew Ferris, Roberto Zoreda Ichaso, Mal Peters

•Publisher: Austin Ramsey

Dicebreaker will welcome back The Tabletop Awards in 2023. For further information and updates, check out the official Tabletop Awards website.