Origins Award Winners, Nominees and Fan Favorites

The Academy of Adventure Gaming Arts & Design announced the winners of the Origin Awards this weekend at the Origin Game Fair in Columbus, Ohio. Monte Cook and Kevin Siembieda were added to the Hall of Fame.  origin winner – Origins 2015 Award Winner ; [Fan] – Origins 2015 Fan Favorite

Best Board Game

  • origin winner Sheriff of Nottingham-Arcane Wonders, designed by: Sergio Halaban, Bryan Pope, Andre Zatz
  • [Fan] Dead of Winter: A Crossroads Game-Plaid Hat Games, designed by: Jonathon Gilmour, Isaac Vega
  • Abyss-Asmodee, designed: by Bruno Cathala, Charles Chevallier
  • The Battle of Five Armies-Ares Games, designed by: Roberto DiMeglio, Marco Maggi, and Francesco Nepitello
  • Cash n Guns 2nd Edition-Repos Production, designed by: Ludovic Maublanc

Best Card Game

  • origin winner Splendor-Asmodee, designed by: Marc Andre
  • [Fan] Star Realms-White Wizard Games, designed by: Robert Dougherty, Darwin Kastle
  • Among the Stars-Stronghold Games, designed by: Vangelis Bagiartakis
  • Linko!-Ravensburger Spieleverlag GmbH, designed by: Michael Kiesling, Wolfgang Kramer
  • Sushi Go!-Gamewright, designed by: Nan Rangisma, Tobias Schweiger, Phil Walker-Harding

Best Children’s, Family, & Party Game

  • origin winner The Hare and the Tortoise-Iello, designed by: Gary Kim
  • [Fan] Gravwell: Escape from the 9th Dimension-Renegade Game Studios, designed by: Corey Young
  • Archer: The Danger Zone! Board Game- Cryptozoic Entertainment, designed by: Matt Hrya

Best Collectible Card Game

  • origin winner Magic: the Gathering Khans of Tarkir- Wizards of the Coast, designed by: Wizards of the Coast R&D
  • [Fan] The Spoils-The Spoils USA, designed by: Ken Pilcher, Josh Lytle
  • Pokemon XY Phantom Forces-The Pokemon Company Intl., designed by: Creatures Inc.
  • Siege: Heart of Darkness-AEG, designed by: Bryan Rose

Best Game Accessory

  • origin winner Wings of Glory Mat-Ares Games, designed by: Ares Games
  • [Fan] Counter Ring-Crit Success LLC. Designed by: Aaron Laniewicz
  • Battletech Lance Pack: Assault Lance- Catalyst Game Labs, designed by: Arrastia, Randall N. Bills
  • Pathfinder Battles: Reign of Winter Standard Booster 8 Ct. Brick-WizKids Games, designed by: WizKids Games


Best Historical Board Game

  • origin winner [Fan] Heroes of Normandie-Iello, designed by: Yann and Clem
  • Armada Invincible-Zvezda LLC, designed by: Konstantin Krivenko
  • Last Chance for Victory-Multi-Man Publishing, designed by: Dean Essig
  • 1066, Tears to Many Mothers-Tristan Hall, designed by: Tristan Hall

Best Historical Miniature Figure/Line

  • origin winner Sails of Glory Series 2-Ares Games, designed by: Andrea Angiolino, Andrea Mainini
  • [Fan] Flames of War: Barbarossa- Battlefront Miniatures, designed by: Battlefront Miniatures {Not an Origins Nominee for this category}
  • D-Day Firefight-Osprey Games/Warlord, designed by: Osprey Games/Warlord
  • Early Crusade & Outremer-Gripping Beast, designed by: Gripping Beast
  • Rorke’s Drift-Warlord Games, designed by: Warlord Games
  • 101st Airborne-Collectors Battlefield, designed by: Collectors Showcase

Best Historical Miniature Rules

  • origin winner [Fan] Sails of Glory-Ares Games, designed by: Andrea Angiolino, Andrea Mainini
  • Across A Deadly Field: Regimental Rules for Civic War Battles- Osprey Publishing, designed by: John Hill
  • The Crescent & The Cross- Studio Tomahawk/Gripping Beast, designed by: Alex Buchel and Andy Sherwell
  • Lion Rampant: Medieval Wargaming Rules- Osprey Publishing, designed by: Daniel Mersey
  • On the Seven Seas: Wargaming Rules for the Age of Piracy and Adventures c. 1500-1730-Osprey, designed by: Osprey Games

Best Historical Miniature Rules Supplements

  • origin winner Battleground Europe- Osprey Publishing/Warlord, designed by:  Ryan Miller, Rick Priestley and Alessio Cavatore
  • [Fan] Flames of War: Barbarossa- Battlefront Miniatures, designed by: Battlefront Miniatures
  • Battlegroup Barbarossa-Ironfist Publishing, designed by: Warwick Kinrade and Piers Brand
  • D-Day: Battle of Carentan-Collectors Battlefield, designed by:Collectors Showcase
  • Bolt Action: Tank War- Osprey Publishing, designed by: Ryan Miller, Rick Priestley and Alessio Cavatore


Best Miniature Figure Line

  • origin winner[Fan] Dungeons & Dragons: Attack Wing-WizKids Games, designed by: Andre Parks, Manny O’Donnell
  • Archangel Raphael-Dark Age, designed by: David Doust
  • Imperial Knight-Games Workshop, designed by: Games Workshop Design Studio
  • Kukulkani Cabrakan-Dark Age, designed by: David Doust
  • Nagash- Games Workshop, designed by: Games Workshop Design Studio

Best Miniature Figure Rules

  • origin winner Golem Arcana-Harebrained Schemes, designed by: Jordan Weisman, Mike Mulvihill, Brian Poel
  • [Fan] Marvel HeroClix: Guardians of the Galaxy Starter Set- WizKids Games, designed by: WizKids Games
  • Battletech: Alpha Strike Companion-Catalyst Game Labs, designed by: Ray Arrastia, Herbert A. Beas II
  • A Fistful of Kung Fu- Osprey Publishing, designed by: Andrea Sfiligoi
  • Warhammer 40,000- Games Workshop, designed by: Games Workshop Design Studio

Role Playing

Best Role Playing Game

  • origin winner [Fan] Dungeons & Dragons Players Handbook-Wizards of the Coast, designed by: Wizards of the Coast R&D
  • Atomic Robo: The Role playing Game- Evil Hat Productions, LLC, designed by: Mike Olson, Brian Clevinger
  • Firefly Role-playing Game-Margaret Weis Productions, designed by: Margaret Weis, Cam Banks, Monica Valentinelli, Mark Diaz Truman, Brendan Conway, Jack Norris and Dean Gilbert.
  • ICONS: Superpowered Roleplaying: The Assembled Edition-Green Ronin, designed by: Steve Kenson
  • The Strange-Monte Cook Games LLC, designed by Bruce R. Cordell, Monte Cook

Best Role Playing Supplement

  • origin winner [Fan] D&D Monster Manual-Wizards of the Coast, designed by: Wizards of the Coast R&D
  • Emerald City: Mutants & Masterminds- Green Ronin, designed by: Darren Bulmer, Walt Ciechanowski, Seth Johnson, Steve Kenson, Jon Leitheussr, Christopher McGlothlin, Jack Norris, and Aaron Sullivan
  • Hobbit Tales: From The Green Dragon Inn-Cubicle 7, designed by: Francesco Nepitello
    Mummy The Curse: Book of the Deceived-Onyx Path, designed by: C.A. Suleiman
  • The One Ring: Darkening of Mirkwood-Cubicle 7, designed by: Francesco Nepitello
  • The Strange: Bestiary-Monte Cook Games, LLC, designed by: Monte Cook G, Bruce R. Cordell, Monte Cook, Robert J. Schwalb

Previously Announced Origins Vanguard Award Winners from April:

Marvel Dice Masters
The Pathfinder Adventure Card Game